My ideal tracklisting for the cancelled Mutya Keisha Siobhan album

2 min read

I could wax poetic about one of my favorite UK girlbands and the drama they went through over the years.

But I won’t.

There are mounds of articles that do that all for me.

The three founding members of Sugababes – Mutya Buena, Keisha Buchanan, and Siobhán Donaghy – released their comeback single in 2013 as the newly christened Mutya Keisha Siobhan to great fanfare. Right around the release, I kept reading these uplifting articles, bucking for these girls to do it right this time around.

“Flatline” is a slice of pop perfection that still plays well today and will continue to do so. It’s catchy, smooth, and really embraces their harmonies. Check it out below:

I’ve been following and supporting these girls since I first heard their record. I’ve bought both Shiv and Muts’ solo albums. I was BEYOND psyched when they got over their differences and decided to come together as a new unit. And I was blown away by the videos that were leaked from their live gigs. YES, the Sugababes have come back to save pop music from itself!

Unfortunately, it seemed as if the nostalgia train for talented musicians wasn’t enough in 2013. Their debut album – termed The Sacred Three or Sacred Three, depending on whom you spoke to – never materialized. Over the next few years, official tracks and demo versions began to leak. I’ve been dying to hear these songs since they announced their comeback.

So whatever audio I could scrabble together from YouTube searches – and my heavens, there was a lot! – I’ve put together my own tracklisting, based on the strength of each song.

  1. Flatline
  2. Drum
  3. I’m Alright
  4. Love in Stereo
  5. Boys
  6. Today
  7. Love Me Hard
  8. No Regrets
  9. Too in Love
  10. Burnt Out
  11. Summer of ’99
  12. Back in the Day
  13. Lay Down in Swimming Pools

Now I know there are more demos and full-length high-quality versions but I have not found them. If I do – or if this version of the album is ever released – I’ll update this post.

Agree/disagree? Let me know in the comments below!

Comments are closed.